What are the 10 principles of FSC?

What are the 10 principles of FSC?

The 10 FSC Principles

  • Principle #1: Compliance with Laws and FSC Principles. ...
  • Principle #2: Tenure and Use Rights and Responsibilities. ...
  • Principle #3: Indigenous Peoples' Rights. ...
  • Principle #4: Community Relations and Workers' Rights. ...
  • Principle #5: Benefits from the Forest. ...
  • Principle #6: Environmental Impact.

What are the FSC standards?

In short, a product can be certified by the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC), which means it meets the "gold standard" ethical production. The wood is harvested from forests that are responsibly managed, socially beneficial, environmentally conscious, and economically viable.May 12, 2022

What are the two types of certification The FSC provides?

There are two types of FSC certification: Forest Management and Chain of Custody. In both types of certification, independent FSC-accredited Certification Bodies ("certifiers") verify that all FSC-certified forests conform to the requirements contained within an FSC forest management standard.

What are FSC certified products?

FSC certification ensures that products come from responsibly managed forests that provide environmental, social and economic benefits. The FSC Principles and Criteria provide a foundation for all forest management standards globally, including the FSC US National Standard (v1.

What is the aim of FSC?

The Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) is an international, non-governmental organisation dedicated to promoting responsible management of the world's forests. Since its foundation in 1994, FSC has grown to become the world's most respected and widespread forest certification system.

What is FSC process?

FSC Chain-of-Custody certification traces the path of products from forests through the supply chain, verifying that FSC-certified material is identified or kept separated from non-certified material throughout the chain.

What is FSC for kids?

Based on the certification system conducted via FSC, when a wooden toy is FSC certified, it means that the wood that was used to produce the item comes from wood that is responsibly harvested from the forests audited by the FSC council.Jun 5, 2020