Politics & Government » Government » What are the roots of american government?

What are the roots of american government?

I have an ap government assignment.


Most of our Constitution and Bill of Rights come from the fact that 85% of the signers of the Declaration were real Christians. Few were not and none were Atheist, some Agnostics. Thomas Jefferson was a known Agnostic as example. The leadership found out that people wanted to have Jefferson as the next President and so the Christians in leadership had a meeting with Jefferson. Jefferson agreed to their requests as to support freedom from government for all faiths, which even meant the Atheists. Jefferson, of course did not want much to do with religion or even the Christian relationship.

The main reasons why the Colonies separated from England were that Colonists were forced to harbor English troops with no choice at all. The King had authorized a new version of the Bible we call the KJV of our time. The Colonists had brought the closest to the original with them. The King wanted all to be forced to use the 1611 version we know about today, I note that for greater info on American early times go to Kirk Cameron's site. He has taken many hours to research from the best of resources.

This Site Might Help You.

What are the roots of american government?
I have an ap government assignment.

There were a varied group of philosophers that the Founding Fathers drew upon. They included contemporaries like Edmund Burke (12 January 1729 – 9 July 1797) and earlier thinkers like John Locke (29 August 1632 – 28 October 1704) and Francis Hutcheson (August 8, 1694 – August 8, 1746)

The American government is modeled heavily after the British government that we broke apart from following the conclusion of the American Revolution. It's ideals of Republicanism are based on the republics of Ancient Greece city states, and the republic of Rome (while it lasted).

The British Government at the time of our nation's founding, consisted of a king (monarch) and a parliament (legislative). Our government has always consisted of a president (executive), Congress (legislative) and Supreme Court (judicial). The republics of Ancient Greece and Rome were based on elected officials who made political decisions on behalf of the people. Eventually however, these republics slipped into dictatorships when the emperor was given almost total control of all political decisions (similar to Britain before the creation of parliament).

The American government was the government to incorporate three different branches, each one with their own checks and balances, so that no branch could become too powerful. The president is elected by the American people in accordance with the rules of the electoral college, and U.S. Representatives and Senators are elected by the eligible voters who fall under their territories (county for representative, state for senator). Potential Supreme Court justices are nominated by the president, and voted upon by Congress. The legislator creates bills and votes on them, the president signs bills into laws or vetoes them, and also exercises other executive powers that no other political entity in the United States government possesses. The Supreme Court decides on the Constitutionality of certain laws and court decisions, which can undo standing laws or prevent others from coming into existence.

Today many governments around the world are modeled after the United States government, which itself was based on the British government at the time, as well as the ancient republics of Rome and Greece.